New red, buffer zones for Kashmir as COVID-19 cases rise

Srinagar, April 9 (IANS) As Kashmir witnesses a major jump in Covid positive cases over the last two days many new areas have now been designated as red and buffer zones.

There are 12 red zones in the Ganderbal and Bandipora districts including Waskura, SK Bala, Parray Mohalla Hajin, Batagund Hajin and Chandergeer Hajin, Kunon, Gundikesar, Gundi Dachina, Madwan, Hakbara, Pethkot, Gund Jehangeer and Naidkhai.
In Shopian district of South Kashmir three zones have been kept in red category including Sedow, Ramnagri, Sindo Sharmal and Bemnipora.
In central Kashmir’s Budgam district there are four red zones including Wathoora, Kandajan, Charar-e-Shareef and Soibugh.
In Baramulla district of North Kashmir, Sulinda, Tangmarg and Uri have been categorised as zed zones.
To the south in Pulwama district there are seven red zones including Khaigam, Rajpora, Sangerwani, Abhama, Gudoora, Pinglena, Chandgam and Parigam.
In Kupwara district ITI Handwara and Baghbela are the two red zones designated, while in Srinagar a total of 14 red zones including Ahmad Nagar, Lal Bazar, Hawal, Nishat, Khayam, Iddgah, Goripora, Chattabal, Hyderpora, Bemina, Jawahar Nagar, Natipora, Lasjan and Nowshera.
Besides this, places in Kashmir designated as buffer zones include Ahan, Kharbagh, Batwina, Chewa, Ajas and Chandergeer.
All the 11 muncipal wards of MC Hajin have also been categorised as buffer zones.
148 places across the valley are buffer zone areas which have been turned into red zones.
On Thursday, 24 Covid positive cases were reported in Kashmir taking the total cases in Jammu & Kashmir to 184 including 32 in Jammu and 152 in the Kashmir valley. There have been four deaths across J&K due to Covid-19, three in Kashmir and one in Jammu.